Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Emily tutors in Memphis, TN

Emily S.

Private tutor in Memphis, TN


Purdue University-Main Campus - Bachelors, Actuarial Science with a second major in Statistics and minor in Management , TBD (currently accepted at Southern College of Optometry and interviewing at Illinois College of Optometry, Arizona College of Optometry, and Pacific University College of Optometry) - Current Grad Student, Doctor of Optometry


After graduating from Purdue with degrees in actuarial science and statistics plus a minor in management, I worked one year as a consulting actuary before making a complete change and deciding to become an optometrist. My reasoning for this is that I love to help people of all ages and working in optometry made that possible.  My math background proves extensive. Combined with my natural propensity for numbers, these factors gave me insight into how to reveal the connection between the language of math and real world scenarios, including scenarios that occur on many types of jobs. I developed this skill while working as an actuary, and it's never failed me. It makes it possible for me to explain detailed math concepts to people who fear math, of which there are many. It also makes it possible to work with people who missed out on basic math skills due to a faulty introduction early in life. I make sure my students really grasp these concepts by testing them. Some of the subjects I tutor include Discrete Math, Elementary Math, Homework Support, Math, ACT, and Test Prep.Outside of my math adventures, I love to travel, dance, and attend live music concerts. 


Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


Aside from working toward a future career as an optometrist, I enjoy dancing, live music, and traveling!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!