Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
James tutors in Memphis, TN

James D.

Private tutor in Memphis, TN


the University of Georgia - BA, Spanish, Russian, International Affairs


My inspiration for tutoring is rooted in my own personal life and experience with a teacher who changed me for the better. In my junior year of high school, I was flunking the first semester of Spanish III, which was already evident in the first month of class. My teacher not only noticed, but cared enough to find out why. This particular teacher went above and beyond the scope of his duties and pushed me to my potential. With his encouragement, I became more interested in Spanish. I started to speak more and listened to Spanish-speaking radio. I saw results. My grades improved. Then, my teacher told me to skip class and only work with him on a one-on-one basis. I took him up on his offer and only came to class to take tests. I met with him daily during my free time and before school. During my tutoring sessions I wasn't allowed to speak English. We did everything in Spanish from films to poems. Ultimately, it was that teacher who helped me discover I had a passion for something I never thought I would be enthusiastic about. That teacher gave me a gift that changed my whole perspective on life. It's a gift that keeps on giving because so many opportunities are available to me. I've learned how to challenge myself each day and grow professionally and personally. I've taken a cue from this teacher with my own style of tutoring. I believe in practicing, but I also believe in application. I don't rely on textbook exercise or rote phrases. My goal is to show students how to learn a language by living the language outside of the classroom. It's all about critical thinking, and it's the primary step in mastering a language. When I'm not teaching Russian or Spanish, I can be found playing guitar, traveling, and following international politics. 


Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


Guitar, traveling, international politics.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!